Knitting projects

sweater backsweater frontIt occurred to me (as I finished up my second knitting project) that I never posted pix of the first project, a sweater that I completed. You can see earlier posts about my attempts at the leaf motif here and here. Several months ago I finished all the parts and sewed it together. It was tricky to get the sleeves just the right length but after some fitting help from a friend, it all worked out great in the end. And just in time for the cooler weather coming our way.

market bagmarket bag folded up into its pocketMy second project was this market bag. It is made from variegated wool and nylon yarn – very nice to work with and the colors are sumptuous. The bag folds up into its own self contained pocket for easy storage when not in use. And I bought this very cool synthetic button for the closure.

Now I can start on socks!

5 Responses to “Knitting projects”


  1. 1 sue September 24, 2007 at 4:53 am

    Is there anything you can’t do ??? Loved the scenic fabric pieces (you never told me what you were selling them for), the copper bowls are outstanding and certainly don’t look like a first attempt, and now the knitting.!!! Meanwhile, I’m still struggling thru sox and a few other unfinished items. Do you have a link to the pattern for the market bag….or the yarn used.? Assume it is from the shop where you work.
    Keep up the great work and continue to share…..I’m taking a class on joggles.com starting tomorrow on organic embroidery. Can’t make a committment to travel to a class right now so I’ll try online.

  2. 2 Lara September 24, 2007 at 12:09 pm

    My mother directed my over here to see the sweater…. This is beautiful! I just started a smaller cardigan (smaller than the heavy hooded cabled thing I finished up earlier in the year) and hope it will be a slightly shorter process.

    re: socks… I’m STILL trying to finish the second sock of a pair. I do enjoy knitting them, but I’m not sure how/when I will wear them, as I would want people (or at least myself) to be able to see them, but my shoes would either cover them or be sandels which is tacky, right?

    Hmm.

    Have you checked out ravelry.com?

  3. 3 Ellen September 24, 2007 at 6:53 pm

    love the bag! can’t wait to see it in person!

  4. 4 Marci November 30, 2012 at 4:14 pm

    I know you posted this 5 years ago….but I was wondering if you remembered the name of the pattern for the bag. I saw one very similar in a yarn shop while on vacation and have been looking for that pattern ever since without any luck. The clerk gave me a pattern to go with the yarn I bought, but now that I am home and actually working on it, I have realized that pattern doesn’t match the sample bag at the store. 😦


Leave a comment




Categories

Blogs I Follow

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 137,214 hits

RV There Yet?

Seeing the country......Serving our Lord!