I’ve been bitten…

… by the knitting bug. On Thursdays I’ve been hanging out with some knitters who get together to knit and share what they’re doing. Hoping to tap into some of their creative energy, I’ve been sharing my quilting with them and drooling over the luscious yarns in the shop where we meet. Several weeks ago Roger and I found ourselves in a Borders book store. I wandered into the craft book section and picked up a book by Jean Frost featuring knitted jackets. Thumbing through it, I saw several I thought were very nice. I resisted and put it back on the shelf. Over hot cocoa in the cafe I mentioned the book to Roger and that I was resisting getting into knitting, trying to keep my creative focus on art quilting – I know how distracted I can get, chasing all those fun rabbit trails. Well, Roger couldn’t see what the big deal was, so I succumbed and bought the book. The next step was to choose yarn for the project. I chose a beautiful cotton yarn in periwinkle and dug out the right size needles from my mother’s plethora of knitting paraphernalia. I knitted the swatch to check the gauge – a whole inch too big. I chose smaller needles and tried again – still too big. Smaller needles and another swatch – same size as the second one. The yarn I chose was too heavy and I needed to choose something else.
So until I could get to a store where I could get the right weight yarn, I decided to try the beautiful leaf motif that attracted me to this pattern. I’d classify myself as an advanced beginner when it comes to knitting and this was rated intermediate. That disparity has never daunted me before. I’m good at directions and pictures so I gave it a go. After starting over 5 times, I finally decided to “fix” my mistakes and keep going. Tonight I finished the motif, and while it has several mistakes in it, it is fun to imagine what it might look like if I did it all right.
leaf pattern swatch
I’ve started a new one now that I think I know what I did wrong. Then I’ll be ready for the real thing. Stay tuned…

5 Responses to “I’ve been bitten…”


  1. 1 Ellen December 3, 2006 at 7:53 am

    o good. you figured it out…. i thought it best not to call you when i got out of work last night 🙂 looking good! is that part of the sleeve?

  2. 2 Lynne December 3, 2006 at 8:32 am

    The only places the motif appear are one at the bottom edge of each sleeve, the bottom edge of the two fronts, and the bottom in the center of the back. After that, it’s just the shadow rib.

  3. 3 Ellen December 3, 2006 at 1:22 pm

    you have lots of work to do… best get cracking! 🙂 can’t wait to see what it looks like all made up.

  4. 4 Sue Miller December 3, 2006 at 10:16 pm

    Wow, you don’t start small. That is a beautiful design but looks complex. I don’t know which is more tempting, fabric or yarn. I actually think yarn wins……I gave up on the sock for now. It’s a different technique, supposedly easier. Uses circular instead of double pointed needles. Its called the Magic Loop….google it. I’ve gone back to a tote bag that is brightly colored, varied patterns and will be felted….hides a multitude of sins. Keep the pictures coming on your progress.


  1. 1 Knitting projects « Mountain Vistas Trackback on September 23, 2007 at 3:27 pm

Leave a comment




Categories

Blogs I Follow

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 137,214 hits

RV There Yet?

Seeing the country......Serving our Lord!