Textures in Nature

Back in June when we were visiting Hawaii for our son’s wedding, we spent a delightful evening poking along Waikiki.  Our son thought I might be interested in a shop there selling photographs by Peter Lik.  Mr Lik’s landscapes are stunningly lovely and the shop displays them beautifully.  But the ones that captured my interest were shots of textures presented in a square format.  There was a poster on the wall with the photographs presented in rows, clearly meant for choosing which ones you wanted blown up and framed.  I asked if I could buy the poster; the answer was ,”No”.  But they would be happy to sell me the larger framed pieces of my choosing.

Since I really liked the variety of the photos and didn’t want large framed pieces, the next best thing was to spring for the pricey catalog.  They assured me that the quality of the real photographs was much better than those published in the amazingly lovely catalog but I was content with that.  And somewhere between the poster and my exit from the shop, I realized that I had taken many texture photographs myself.  I just needed to sort them out of all the photos I had taken and I could clearly have them printed collage style, almost like the ones by Mr Lik.  Mind you, I’m not claiming anywhere near the level of competency here, but my own photos come with memories of time and place, much nicer than just someone else’s image, no matter how fabulous.

So, for Christmas I asked my son to make the collages for me.  I sent him files, he sent me three lovely posters, two of my serious ones and one just for fun – with a cute little monkey face looking  out of one of the boxes. – 61 images in all.

8 Responses to “Textures in Nature”


  1. 1 Steph February 2, 2010 at 11:00 pm

    Hey, girl! Welcome back!! I’ve been missing your blog! Those posters are great – such talent! Have fun with Dave at the retreat – should be lots of fun for everyone:).

  2. 2 Colleen February 3, 2010 at 6:36 am

    What a nice thing to wake up to -Lynne is back! I love them and what a wonderful son you have-he gave you a gift from the heart for Christmas. You are right that the memories associated with all these great textures can’t be matched by something purchased.

  3. 3 Lynne February 3, 2010 at 7:35 am

    What faithful readers I have, regularly checking for over a month to see if there’s anything new. Thanks!

  4. 4 sue February 4, 2010 at 3:28 am

    Yes, we’ve all been waiting for you and your artistry to return. And it was worth the wait. This is a beautiful idea. Makes me want to sort thru my pics. But my son is the photographer and I will share this idea with him. Welcome back.

  5. 5 Sharon February 4, 2010 at 2:22 pm

    Love, love, love it! So wonderful for so many reasons!

  6. 6 Amanda February 5, 2010 at 10:07 am

    What a beautiful collage! I came across your blog as I was looking for fellow Peter Lik fans. Check out his blog for more inspiration: http://blog.peterlik.com/

  7. 7 Norma February 5, 2010 at 7:21 pm

    These are stunning and a great tribute to your photography talent. Like Sue, I’m thinking that I should share this with my son, who takes great nature photos.

  8. 8 Lynne February 5, 2010 at 8:32 pm

    Thanks for all the kind comments. Anyone can do this once you have the photos. David had the collages printed at Costco. They are about 12″ x 18″ and I think they were very reasonable. I asked David to do them so the pictures were sized the same and the quality looked consistent from photo to photo.


Leave a comment




Categories

Blogs I Follow

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 137,012 hits

RV There Yet?

Seeing the country......Serving our Lord!