Portable design wall

portable design wall black sideThanks to lots of innovative people on the QuiltArt list and elsewhere, I’ve constructed a new portable design wall for the studio. With all the wonderful under-eave storage we had installed during the building process, there was little wall space left for a fixed design wall. So after viewing several examples and reading several summaries online, we purchased a rolling clothes rack (Bed, Bath and Beyond), two 4’x8′ boards of insulation (Home Depot) and some 72″ wide felt (JoAnn’s). I decided to make one side white and the other side black, mostly because I could see advantages to both colors and couldn’t settle on just one.

portable design wall white sideWe cut the boards to 7′ and notched the bottom edges to fit over the bottom of the rolling rack. Next we covered each board with felt. We used spray adhesive to glue the two sides together around the rack – the pieces of leftover insulation board were cut to size and positioned between the two large panels, sprayed with glue, and pressed together. We laid it down and weighted it overnight… and voila!

I’ve already used the wall to photograph a new quilt. Between the lights in the studio and the light streaming in from the windows the texture shows up very well. And I can move it around to get the desired effect. And it’s ready just in time to start a new project.

21 Responses to “Portable design wall”


  1. 1 loraquilt March 30, 2008 at 11:03 am

    Great job on the design wall! I had an especially frustrating photography session yesterday and am determined to have a better set up next time. I think a design wall like yours will be the answer.
    All best,
    Lora

  2. 2 Colleen March 31, 2008 at 6:19 am

    You will so appreciate your new design wall. Nice job, Lynn. It has made a huge impact on my design techniques. Another picture of the red, green and black beauty in the future?? Happy Sewing, Colleen

  3. 3 terryaskeartquilts December 29, 2013 at 4:17 pm

    Lynn, this looks like a fabulous solution when no walls are available to hang a design wall on! I’m going to try to make one of my own. Just wondering how it has stood up – are you still using it?

  4. 4 Lynne January 2, 2014 at 12:47 pm

    Hi Terry,
    Thanks for commenting on my blog about my design wall. It still works great. I have even laid it down flat to block things. The only thing that I would do differently would be to use something more permanent to affix the felt to the insulation board. After a while the duct tape starts to let go but so far I haven’t had to replace anything.
    Have fun making yours. I’d love to see a photo when you’re done and to know how it worked out for you.

  5. 5 Diana January 4, 2014 at 7:19 pm

    How thick was the insulation board & how much did you pay for the rolling garment rack at BB&B.

  6. 6 Marianne January 26, 2014 at 10:01 pm

    I have been wanting to do something like this for a while, but wasn’t sure how to go about it…..thanks for showing us how!!!

  7. 7 Karen May 11, 2015 at 4:58 pm

    Thank you so much for sharing this. I hope BB&B still has that rolling clothes rack.

  8. 8 Mickey September 26, 2015 at 11:45 pm

    Did you buy the $200 rolling clothes rack – or did you find something more reasonable??

  9. 9 George September 10, 2016 at 5:30 pm

    Hi there:) is there any chance you can make a quick video on how you put this together? I have to make this for a thesis project and im confused 😦 you would be so helpful :):):)

  10. 10 Lisa E Toth October 3, 2016 at 9:16 am

    I would use a spray adhesive to attach the felt to the wall. Wonderful idea!

  11. 11 isolamentotermicoportugal.blogspot.com June 13, 2018 at 12:20 pm

    Oh my goodness! Incredible article dude! Thanks, However I am going through troubles
    with your RSS. I don’t understand the reason why I can’t join it.

    Is there anyone else having the same RSS problems? Anyone that knows the
    solution can you kindly respond? Thanks!!

  12. 12 тут December 14, 2018 at 4:53 am

    Oh my goodness! Amazing article dude! Thank you so much, However I am having issues with
    your RSS. I don’t know why I can’t join it.
    Is there anybody else getting the same RSS issues? Anybody who knows the answer can you kindly respond?
    Thanks!!

  13. 13 Eugene Louie March 29, 2019 at 12:48 am

    Hey,
    Nice idea. My wife has been trying to explain how your wall was assembled. Please would you create a drawing from me. I’m a visual learner.

    My theory is there is either an “air gap” between the two 4×7 foot boards or you used the waste piece to strengthen the entire design wall, bracing the wall like a swinging back yard gate. She said the remaining piece is between the two 4×7 foot boards Whose correct ?

    Your photo makes the two foam core boards look congruent ( with no air gap ) between the two. So, I figured you used the remaining 1 foot wide x 7 foot “waste piece” to serve as a horizontal or vertical bracenmaking the congruent 4×7 finished Wall ( the working area ) stronger. I apologize but I’m a visual learner & her explsnstion isn’t making sense.
    Can you help me out. Thanks, Eugene Louie 408-438-6788; email eugenelouie@gmail.com
    Can you take a picture showing where the narrow 1’ x 7’ strip now lives ?

  14. 14 Home Design Ideas May 10, 2019 at 11:46 pm

    If some one wants to be updated with hottest technologies then he must
    be go to see this web site and be up to date all the time.

  15. 15 Polly Clements May 11, 2021 at 6:37 am

    Love the two sided idea. I just did the same thing using a cloths hanger myself but only one side! I love it. I may be adding to it to make mine a two sided as well!!

  16. 16 Sandeep Kumar December 6, 2023 at 6:51 am

    I just booked my first consultation with the best interior designer in Delhi NCR that my friend recommended. Excited to see what design ideas they come up with for my small apartment!


  1. 1 Quilt Along « heatherBENNETT Trackback on May 21, 2009 at 7:30 am
  2. 2 home n kitchenware tray Trackback on January 20, 2018 at 3:01 am
  3. 3 pvc van da Trackback on May 6, 2020 at 10:12 pm
  4. 4 lanni Trackback on December 5, 2020 at 9:16 am
  5. 5 dissertation philo conscience gratuit Trackback on July 23, 2021 at 11:07 pm

Leave a comment




Categories

Blogs I Follow

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 137,156 hits

RV There Yet?

Seeing the country......Serving our Lord!