Rain

It’s raining; I hear thunder, which means the  lightening isn’t very far away.  I’m sitting on the screened porch listening to the pattering of raindrops on leaves and roof.  And then I hear it:  birds songs!

Not far away there is a White-throated Sparrow singing in its clear strong voice;  it’s a beautiful song, heard above the pitter-patter of the rain.  Again and again he calls.

This set me to thinking.  What do I do when the storms of life come?   I know that if it pours down hard the birds will seek shelter and hunker down.  People do too.   But I want to be like that white throated sparrow, singing in the rain.

When our lives lose their sunshine and we walk through dark and cloudy days, when the heavens open and we can barely hear ourselves think for all the clatter and thunder going on around us,  when we think that life is on hold while we wait out the dark night, how do we find the courage to sing?

The only way I know is to trust in the One who made the rain, the storm, the wind, the lightening.  He who is in charge of the weather holds me in the palm of His hand, where I am safe, even in harm’s way.  And so I can sing!
cat mint

0 Responses to “Rain”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories

Art Every Day Month

Pages

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 113,100 hits
June 2013
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

