Ice and Snow

On my regular walks I am always on the look out for beautiful and unusual things.  Winter is no different, although it is definitely harder to be consistant getting outside.  Many times the roads are icy and conditions not good for walking, but when I make the effort I am usually rewarded with unexpected beauty.  Here is a sampling of some things that have made me stop and take a second look.

I found these beautiful ice crystals in the road.  Some of them were small amounts of frozen water that had collected in foot prints and tire tracks.  The others were of frozen mud.

ice lace - footprint ice lace - tire tracks ice lace - frozen mud

These footprints in fresh snow made me wonder about the sleek fox that made them.  Was he looking for breakfast?  Did he find some?

footprints in the snow

I spotted an eagle soaring overhead.  I don’t know that I have seen very many here in Vermont.  I know they are here but seeing this one reminded me of our time in Alaska last summer where they were everywhere.  What a treat to see one here and watch him soaring about on such a lovely day.

soaring eagle

Ice fringe!  Formations along the rivers and streams can be amazing.  The water levels change; there is melting and splashing and some wonderful things occur.  I happened on these on one of my walks, a chance glance really as I was walking by and I stopped to take a closer look.  The formations were so beautiful and unique that I went back the next day with the long lens to take some closer views (the bank was steep and treacherous).  What a treat!

ice fringe on the Black River

ice fringe on the Black River

ice fringe on the Black River

ice fringe on the Black River

Ice fringe on the Black River

3 Responses to “Ice and Snow”


  1. 1 rvthereyet February 27, 2013 at 10:13 pm

    Very cool!!!! Love the fringe especially! Hope you made it home safely. I bet you’re missing that grandbaby, though!

  2. 2 sue March 1, 2013 at 7:04 am

    I’m enjoying winter vicariously while I enjoy the 75 degree weather. Great blog posts of your creativity.

  3. 3 Donna March 7, 2013 at 4:17 pm

    Love checking in on your blog…. Your sweet spirit and creativity sparkle bright, both in your photography and your scribbles…. I’m wishing for a cousin reunion….. Hugs to you Lynne 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

Art Every Day Month

Pages

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 110,610 hits
February 2013
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  

