Thanksgiving

Enter His gates with thanksgiving and His courts with praise; give thanks to Him and praise His name.  For the Lord is good and His love endures forever; His faithfulness continues through all generations.  Psalm 100: 4-5

Thanksgiving is one of my favorite holidays.  It is good to pause now and then to count our blessings and I am very thankful for many things, not the least of which is my family.  But one of the things I am most mindful of on this particular day is that every breath, every heartbeat, every unconscious action of my body that allows me to function “normally” is a gift.  None of us can know what lies ahead, what will happen next year, next month, tomorrow, or even today.  To this end, I want to cultivate a thankful heart, to celebrate not just one day, Thanksgiving Day, but to live in a way that expresses gratitude for the little things, the everyday things, the things I take for granted.  I pray that it will be so.

That being said, I am also thankful for the occasional opportunity to see something up-close that normally we only see from a distance.  I love birds; they fascinate me.  I have gotten to hold maybe a dozen of them in my lifetime.  Most of them have sadly been victims of reflective windows; a few have recovered and flown away.  I have cradled their tiny bodies, admired their coloration and beauty, stroked their delicate feathers, and wondered how they fly.  I rejoice when they blink and sit up.  It is a mixed blessing when they remain lifeless.

And so it was recently when we found a male ruffed grouse on our back deck.  I see them often when I walk, usually after I have unknowingly come too close to them and they spring into the air.  Their coloration is perfect camouflage for the leaf litter of the forest floor.  I have never seen one in our yard, let alone one on the deck, and we don’t know why he was where we found him.  He wasn’t even in front of the windows, but I was grateful to have several days to admire and wonder over this lovely bird before I laid him under an evergreen tree in the woods.

1 Response to “Thanksgiving”


  1. 1 David November 23, 2012 at 7:22 pm

    Nice Ma! You don’t happen to have a picture of the whole bird do you? I remember being quite startled by one of these in the middle of the woods one summer at Deerfoot. It charged out on the trail and chased after us.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Art Every Day Month

Pages

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 113,300 hits
November 2012
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

