Fog and Faith


It was foggy this morning when I went out for my daily walk.  The fog was mostly in the valley, so as I descended the hill it became more and more dense.  I was reminded of a time when I was a child.  I was out in the middle of a large field and I could walk to a place where I could see no landmarks.  It looked like there was a large frosted glass bowl placed down over me.  It was the same view in all directions, just grass and fog.  And this got me thinking about faith, how sometimes we can’t really see where we’re going but just need to take one step at a time.  When shapes eventually start to emerge through the fog we can begin to take corrective measures as necessary.  But without those first steps we will not know where we are heading.  We need to step out in faith.

It seems I live much of my life in faith mode.  I trust a chair to hold me when I sit in it; I trust gravity to keep me from launching into space.  I trust the sun to rise in the morning and the stars to appear at night.  I trust certain people for their wisdom and friendship.  But most of all I trust in a great God, the creator of the universe, the One who loves me and cares for me.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Art Every Day Month

Pages

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 110,638 hits
October 2012
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

