Leaves

Spring has come early here in New England.  We haven’t had snow on the ground now for many weeks; we mowed for the first time yesterday – all of this several weeks ahead of schedule.

New little leaves are appearing on the trees.  Even the oaks which are normally the last to leaf out are budding.  The spring colors are glorious, a tiny glimpse of autumn splendor.  And while the trees are swelling with the warmer temperatures, I am in my studio making…. leaves!

Many months ago I signed up for an online class with Lisa Call to learn more about working in a series.  This is something that “everyone” says artists should be doing.  It’s a good way to develop one’s voice and a cohesive body of work.  It is something I have always thought would be boring.  So I thought I may be missing something and decided to find out.

When the 8 week class finally started, our first assignment was to choose a subject, with narrowed parameters that would define our series.  It was hard to close so many doors and commit to working in such a specific area, but liberating at the same time.  If it didn’t fit my definition, I didn’t do it.  I’m still in the middle of class – 3 of 5 assignments finished or nearly so.  Each assignment has focused on different design principles, helping me to see different directions for series development.  Any of these ideas may be explored further and I’m keeping a list of possibilities for later, once the workshop is over.  Here is what spring has brought to my studio:

10 Responses to “Leaves”


  1. 1 rogerwc May 2, 2012 at 6:25 am

    Nice to finally see a blog update. You do such good work – I enjoy seeing it in person in your studio.

  2. 2 colleenkole May 2, 2012 at 6:56 am

    It is an amazing adventure you are on! The leaves are a beautiful reflection of all your talents Lynne. I am sure you are excited as to this adventure. Will call later today.
    I thought the class swallowed you alive, so thanks for letting us peek. 🙂

  3. 3 Nellie Durand May 6, 2012 at 3:47 pm

    The leaves are awesome! Both yours and mother natures 😉

  4. 4 Norma Schlager May 9, 2012 at 7:25 am

    Glad to see you back on the blog. You certainly have been working. Your leaf studies are amazing. I’d love to see them in person some day.

    • 5 Lynne May 9, 2012 at 9:00 pm

      Norma, I might enter one of these in the Scrapbaggers show since they are based on photographs (that is if you still accept former members). I have another one pieced and need to start number five. These have kept me very busy. I’m glad you like them.

  5. 6 Janet Bunch May 12, 2012 at 2:28 pm

    The leaves are exquisite, like all your work. Quietly lyrical. I have often looked at leaves under magnification and have found how like urban development the pattern of veining is, with streets building into larger streets, and on up to highways. The light patterns formed when you are standing under a tree looking up at the sky. I can’t imagine a better study subject for you. Your nature eye has always been so extraordinary.

    • 7 Lynne May 12, 2012 at 6:20 pm

      Janet, How nice to hear from you! Thanks for reading my blog and for your nice comment.
      Your analogy of the veins looking like subdivisions is interesting and I have often thought the view of developments from the air looked like leaf veins – little roads to deliver all the nutrients to everyone, I guess. I found some magnolia leaf skeletons at our daughter’s home in MD and they look just like the roads in a subdivision. Pretty crazy.

  6. 8 vivienzf June 6, 2012 at 6:00 pm

    I was in Lisa’s class as well and marveled at what you were able to accomplish. I love, love, love your leaf series.

    • 9 Lynne June 7, 2012 at 8:21 am

      Lisa’s class was great, wasn’t it?! It was a lot of work to produce textile pieces in such short order but I loved the discipline of being in the studio and accomplishing creative things. Each piece probably took 16-20 hours and most of them are just tops. Seems like they got more and more complicated and each subsequent one is less “done”. Thanks for your kind words. Do you plan to do more with your chair series? I really like what you did with what I thought was a difficult subject.


  1. 1 Leftovers | Mountain Vistas Trackback on February 28, 2016 at 3:54 pm

Leave a Reply

Categories

Art Every Day Month

Pages

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 110,119 hits
May 2012
M T W T F S S
« Mar   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

