More Christmas gifts

I fell in love with these little zippered bags several years ago.  The directions were published in Threads magazine in the January 2005 issue and at the time, I made a few of them.  They were a bit fussy but they came out well.  And best of all, the ladies I made them for loved them!

Fast forward to 2011.  As I was sifting through ideas for my new daughter-in-law, this one came to mind.  She loves purple and I found just the thing in my stash: pieces of royal purple silk velvet, leftover scraps from a prom dress.  I paired the velvet with a metallic gold shot cotton for the ruffle and a pretty piece of cotton batik for the lining.  And then I remembered embossing velvet a few years ago.  So I dug out some hand carved wooden stamps and fired up the iron.  It was slow going since each image is done one at a time, but the results were fabulous.  I finished the zipper with a golden glass fish bead and filled it with a few essentials (nail polish).  I hope she likes it.

And of course, when I showed it to two creative friends, they liked them too.  So yes, I made a few more.  I had enough embossed velvet left over to make a slightly smaller bag like the first one and chose two pieces of cotton velveteen for the others.

4 Responses to “More Christmas gifts”


  1. 1 colleenkole December 15, 2011 at 10:09 pm

    These are just beautiful. I love the embossing and what a treasured gift they will be!

  2. 2 Norma December 16, 2011 at 7:39 am

    These are just gorgeous! I love the embossed velvet. You may remember that I did quite a bit of it several years ago for scarves and mittens.

  3. 3 Lynne December 16, 2011 at 7:55 am

    Norma, I remember a beautiful card you sent with embossed velvet as well. I had fooled around with embossing but never really found a use for it until now. I also tried embossing the velveteen but it didn’t stay nice and crisp and is very hard to see.

  4. 4 Sharon December 19, 2011 at 8:51 am

    LOVE these! Great color combinations…wonderful in every way!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Art Every Day Month

Pages

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 110,695 hits
December 2011
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

