Bead workshop

This month the Maple Leaf Quilt Guild‘s speaker was Lisa Walton of Sydney, Australia. Often, when we bring in a special speaker, there is a workshop offered the next day. Way back in the spring I signed up for Lisa’s workshop. Why? I have followed her blog for a long time. I was originally taken in by her beautiful hand dyed fabrics. Then she started making amazing beaded creations. While she often teaches several types of quilting classes, I was especially excited that this was going to be her beading workshop AND her beaded button class all rolled into one.

I’ve done some beading before with knowledge I’ve gleaned from books and other publications but I’ve never taken a class. The first half of the day was devoted to a half dozen basic stitches used to add beading to fabric. Here are some pictures of my sampler.

The afternoon concentrated on putting those stitches to use in making a beaded button.

Lisa was a wonderful speaker. She gave us a great over view of the development of her fabric dyeing business Dyed and Gone to Heaven. She included her rising fascination with beads, pictures of her new studio and brought along a stack of lovely quilts, many of which I had seen before in pictures. What a treat to see them in person.

Lisa is headed to the International Quilt Festival in Houston, the ultimate in quilt show experiences. She’ll be teaching several classes there. What a treat it was to meet her and get to know her a little bit.

3 Responses to “Bead workshop”


  1. 1 Colleen Kole October 28, 2011 at 7:37 pm

    Ohhh- I am very jealous! The button is absolutely beautiful. Something else to be addicted to given your previous attraction to buttons, my dear. Glad you had a good time.

  2. 2 Patricia Jane October 29, 2011 at 6:40 pm

    Oh Lynne, this beaded button is absolutely wonderful!! I’m nearly finished (for this year) making beaded ornaments for my daughter’s bead shop, and wondering what I should concentrate on next. Wish I could take such a terrific workshop! Looks intriguing and fun. Glad you got to have this experience with such a great artist! Wishing you well!

  3. 3 sue October 31, 2011 at 5:29 am

    I would have loved to have been a fly on the wall for that workshop….or better yet…a participant. I’ve enjoyed finding her blog and will follow it. Love the button….can’t you just see a few on that hand knit sweater ??? Wonder if beading and yarn go together or if the beads would just disappear. One more creative thing to ponder. How’s your weather?


Leave a comment




Categories

Blogs I Follow

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 136,983 hits

RV There Yet?

Seeing the country......Serving our Lord!