Play days

My friend Colleen recently invited me to come play with fabric and dye for a few blissful days at her lovely Vermont farm.  The plan was to get together to play with some surface design techniques and maybe dye some fabric while we waited for the other stuff to dry.  We had a list of techniques we wanted to try: screen printing, deconstructed screen printing, stamping and mark-making with thickened dye, monoprinting, and over-dyeing.  It was ambitious at best and a bit daunting.  In the end, we tried everything but the deconstructed screens and my favorite ended up being monoprinting.

What was unexpected for me was the amount of dyeing I did.  Colleen had mixed up 3 different color families.  I used 2 on the first day and the remaining one on day 2.  In the process, I underestimated the power of golden yellow and fuschia, and after dyeing too many oranges and reds that were too similar, I over-dyed them for some deep, rich, complex darks, the most exciting outcome of the effort.

4 Responses to “Play days”


  1. 1 Roger August 10, 2011 at 6:43 am

    I really appreciate the talent you bring to things like this. It complements my complete lack of such in this area. I love you!

  2. 2 Colleen Kole August 10, 2011 at 7:21 am

    I do love your overdyes! They are really pretty. Great pictures you have taken. I definitely had a fun time and conversation among friends. Thanks for coming and have fun cutting them up now.

  3. 3 Carol August 14, 2011 at 3:08 pm

    Lynne, your giftedness is amazing. I can’t wait to hear how you use the fabric you dyed. Your friendship enriches my life.

  4. 4 Norma August 14, 2011 at 5:22 pm

    What a great way to spend a couple of days with a friend. I love what you’ve done and will look froward to seeing what you do with them.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Art Every Day Month

Pages

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 113,300 hits
August 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

