Collaborative work

I’ve been enjoying some studio time of late working on two collaborative projects.  The first one is a small part of a much larger quilt being put together by 8 cyber friends to encourage a mutual friend.  My piece will go somewhere near the center.  We are all doing our own independent work and one of the artists will be putting all the pieces together.  Hopefully I’ll be able to post pictures of the finished product when the time comes.  In the meantime, here is my contribution to the effort.  It measures 17.5″ x 22″ in this photo but will probably be cropped some to fit into a slightly smaller space.  I’m sure it looks familiar to those of you who have followed here for a while.  This is a considerably larger version of my typically smaller work.  Because it will be part of a larger quilt that may be washed, most of the collaged pieces are faced so there will be no chance of them fraying and coming apart.  The leaves are of concern to me since I have no idea how they will fare.  They are backed with fusible interfacing to minimize fraying.  Quilting was kept fairly minimal too since the finished piece needed to be soft and not stiff from dense stitching.

The second project started with a beautiful piece of snow dyed fabric made by Frances Alford.  We divided it into three lengths with the intention to work vertically.  We also decided to incorporate Textiva Fantasy Film in the surface design somehow.  Those of you who know me well know that using “plastic” is a bit of a challenge for me.  It is not my material of choice.  After some experimentation, I found that I could heat it with a heat gun to the point where small bubbles formed and burst making a lovely albeit glitzy lace.  I decided I could live with that and set about quilting in the flowers I saw in the snow dyed fabric, adding the Textiva as I went and heating when I was finished.  The next step of our project involves each of us cutting up our work and sewing them all back together.  Hopefully pictures will be forthcoming then as well.  This is what my piece looked like before I cut it into three vertical slices.  My panel whole measure about 14″ x 38″.

1 Response to “Collaborative work”


  1. 1 Patricia Jane June 16, 2011 at 6:14 pm

    Lynne you do beautiful work!! I love both pieces! I’ve been doing so many other things that I haven’t been doing my stitching / quilting in quite awhile and this makes me itch to get back to it. As soon as things settle down… Really nice things you’ve done!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Art Every Day Month

Pages

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 112,237 hits
June 2011
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

