After danger of frost

It’s generally held that it is safe to plant those sensitive annuals and garden veggies after June 1st here in Vermont.  It’s awfully hard to wait  while everyone else is posting beautiful flower pots brimming with blooms or tomatoes already on the vine.  We started plants indoors so we have some hope of produce at the end of our relatively short summer growing season.  Even that isn’t enough sometimes.

We planted everything on May 30th.  Yep, two days early.  But it has been so warm of late, we thought they’d get a good start.  And we already have some things germinating – lettuce and radishes.  Hopefully the other things won’t be far behind.  But really I’m not holding my breath.  The temps went down into the high 30’s last night. While I dutifully covered my tomato plants, I got distracted and forgot about the deck flower and herb pots.  This morning, some of the more tender things looked burnt.  They weren’t dead but they didn’t look great.  The basil took it the hardest but I’m hoping the growing points are still alive.  The leaves are mostly brown and crisp.  We’ll see.  The sweet potato vines mostly recovered by the end of the day after the sun warmed them up.  Tonight more dangerous lows are predicted but the pots are all snugged together under a cozy sheet to keep off the frost.

I spoke with a nursery owner today who told me of a killing frost he remembered on June 20th a number of years ago.  I don’t have enough sheets to cover the garden for that.

2 Responses to “After danger of frost”


  1. 1 Colleen Kole June 3, 2011 at 8:37 pm

    Yikes that’s cold for June! Cover those plants. Gotta love Vermont.

  2. 2 Patricia Jane June 5, 2011 at 3:35 pm

    Hi Lynne, Wow, should I rush right up there with a pile of my old sheets I used here? LOL I completely understand the frost dilemma. Two nights in a row my yard looked like an explosion in a linen store. Hang in there – soon your garden will be lush!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Art Every Day Month

Pages

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 113,085 hits
June 2011
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

