Week 2 – sketching on location at a coffee shop

James and I went to Java Baba’s, a great little coffee/lunch spot in Ludlow, VT for the sole purpose of sketching on location.  The assignment was to buy a drink and something to eat, and to draw what you bought.  James had coffee, I had tea and even though the goodies were so tempting, I settled on a Vermont-made dog biscuit – something I wasn’t supposed to eat – to bring home to Monte.

This assignment was a bit daunting since I usually paint in the evening when the house is quiet.  To do the work on location, I need to go when places are open – during the day.  It was hard to settle down and relax enough to paint when there was so much going on around me and such a long to-do list for the day.  But I managed and I’m pleased with the out-put.

 

2 Responses to “Week 2 – sketching on location at a coffee shop”


  1. 1 Norma January 30, 2011 at 2:05 pm

    Did you draw a crowd as you sat there with your watercolors?

  2. 2 Lynne January 30, 2011 at 2:48 pm

    Interestingly enough, no one paid any attention. They might have been watching from other tables, but no one came over or asked me anything. I went sketching yesterday too. Same result. Most of the people in the class are saying they were ignored, though one person reported a negative experience.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Art Every Day Month

Pages

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 111,652 hits
January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

