It’s about time!

It’s been a while since I’ve updated this space.  I’ll bet you, dear reader are as tired as I am of seeing the same picture when you check in here.  So finally, I’m doing something about it.  Yay!

A number of months ago I heard about a sketchbook project and decided to join.  I chose a theme – “I am a Scavenger” – and set about filling it up with ephemera that have been accumulating in a drawer for some time.  Included are pieces of paper (mostly) that were too pretty or interesting to throw away, even though they were too small to use for anything.  I’ve included some original drawings too, but it contains mostly collage pieces.  Below are thumbnails of the pages in the order they appear.  All the sketchbooks are part of a traveling exhibit.  Check their website for when the exhibit will be in a city near you.

3 Responses to “It’s about time!”


  1. 1 Colleen Kole January 16, 2011 at 4:54 pm

    It is about time that you are back!

    Great job on this large project. I was trying to decide my favorite….and couldn’t. I like your washes of paint-gentle. I bet it was hard to part with it in the end.

    Congrats, my friend.

    What’s next?

  2. 2 Norma January 17, 2011 at 5:36 pm

    Glad to see you back. These are great, although they enlarge sideways, a little hard to read. I think the stamps are my favorite.

  3. 3 Lynne January 18, 2011 at 12:54 pm

    Thanks for the nice comments.
    Colleen, there is no actual painting in this book, except for the gold textures on pages 17 and 20. Most everything is collaged in, including the painted paper towel on pages 9 and 13 (same 2 ply towel, one ply on each page). There are a bunch of used tea bag papers, some drawn on and some just as is.
    Norma, sorry for the enlarging sideways. I don’t know why that is so except that I uploaded them sideways and edited them for the post. All the images are scanned images and I had to treat them differently than I do normal photographs. There isn’t very much to read either, just page 2 and the little note on the last page. The page that looks like it has the most content is not meant to say anything though there are several real words mixed in.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Art Every Day Month

Pages

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 110,639 hits
January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

