A pair of boots this time

I really wanted to take another crack at those work boots.  You couldn’t tell, because I didn’t post a picture of the actual boot, that the proportions were slightly off.  It was the tyranny of the 5×7 format, my wanting to not run off the top of the page and a few other things that kept me from obsessing.  But the perfectionist that I am really wanted the boots to look right.  So here they are.  I chose to draw the pair but only to paint one.  We’ll see if I go back and paint it later, but for now it is what it is.   The border and title are in pencil only because I have plans to do two companion pieces and give them to my son – they’re his boots after all.  I want to try his hitch (boots/pants/suspenders) as it sits ready for action and his helmet, and I’d like the borders to go together.  We’ll see how it works out.

2 Responses to “A pair of boots this time”


  1. 1 sue November 18, 2010 at 3:00 pm

    I can’t believe that I’m the only comment so far. Anyone who sees this and reads your plans for the boot pics would have to say “what a great idea”. As usual, you have captured the subject in your individualistic creative style. This class has brought out the best in you. I hope you keep it up ….. although knowing you, the next new thing is right around the corner. Just curious, have you tried drawing animals ??

    • 2 Lynne November 18, 2010 at 4:09 pm

      I haven’t tried doing animals mostly because Jane wants us to work from real life and animals don’t hold still long enough. I could try Monte when she is asleep but otherwise I would have to work from photos. I had a robin that flew into the window but Roger disposed of it before I had a chance.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Art Every Day Month

Pages

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 110,695 hits
November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

