Continuous line drawing in ink #3

After 7! preliminary sketches on scrap paper, I finally got bold enough to use watercolor paper.  I’ll be glad when we can go back to pencil sketches but there is some great value in the preliminary work done in ink.  It is a good way to really see and then evaluate what one missed the first time.  It helps one see relationships of contours and shapes, and in a real way helps the brain to understand and know the subject a little better.  When I feel that I’ve started to mostly get things in proper placement, then it’s time to go to the real thing.  I haven’t mastered it for sure, but it’s recognizable and this is a class after all.  I’m learning.

Jane suggested that I add the stitching in the palm even though it isn’t technically continuous line drawing.  It helps the glove look more plausible and I tried to remove some of the paint to show texture and contour.  Jane also suggested some splatter for some gritty dirt.  Even though I normally like nice clean lines and spaces, it is a great improvement to tell the story.

0 Responses to “Continuous line drawing in ink #3”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories

Art Every Day Month

Pages

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 110,695 hits
November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

