Lesson 3 – Continuous line drawing directly to ink

This week’s journal sketching exercise is continuous contour drawing in ink (as in don’t lift the pen before it’s done) without a pencil sketch first.  I find I’m making many practice sketches on plain paper before I try it on watercolor paper.  But so far, after much procrastination I have done two pages.  Here they are without much fanfare.  They are interesting and loose, which I guess is the object of the lesson.  I definitely need practice doing this.

3 Responses to “Lesson 3 – Continuous line drawing directly to ink”


  1. 1 sue November 1, 2010 at 5:27 pm

    I need to come live near you and look over your shoulder and breathe in your creativity. You can do it all…..including this challenge.

  2. 2 Lynne November 1, 2010 at 8:16 pm

    You have no idea how many times I drew these images on regular paper before I got brave enough to use the watercolor paper. I think I did at least 10 of the acorn squash and at least 6 or 7 of the scissors. I’m working on a glove now and I’m on #5 since I still don’t have the angles of the fingers right. My first attempts are abysmal. But thanks for your encouragement. I appreciate it a lot since I’m so hard on myself.

  3. 3 Sharon November 2, 2010 at 7:41 pm

    You are AMAZINGLY TALENTED!!! There is nothing you can’t do!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Art Every Day Month

Pages

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 113,300 hits
October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

