Lesson 2 – still more leaves

Even though it is deep Fall here and there are almost no leaves on the trees, it is amazing how much green stuff there still is out there.  I guess until it is all covered with snow, I’ll have at least something to choose from. And then there are always evergreens – not sure I really want to paint needles… but I’ve done it before, so who knows.  I hope that by the time we get that kind of snow, I won’t still be looking for green leaves.

So here is my third sheet of leaves.  These sketches are meant to be just that: quick sketches, quickly painted, finished in about an hour or so.  This technique is for journaling from real life subjects, preferably outdoors.  But I heard that next week is flowers – hmmmm – not much outside.  Maybe I can rationalize buying an orchid in bloom.  Or maybe I’ll take a stool to Home Depot and hang out for a while.  Would they frown on that?  We’ll see when the next lesson is published on Thursday.

3 Responses to “Lesson 2 – still more leaves”


  1. 1 Norma October 27, 2010 at 7:22 am

    I’m really enjoying watching your progress in this class. I always knew you were talented; this just confirms it.

  2. 2 Susan November 2, 2010 at 4:58 am

    Lynne,
    I really looked at the leaves you did and they are wonderful. The tip curling back on the one and the shadow you painted within the hole on the Rudebeckia leaf. Missed those small items when looking at them in the forums.

  3. 3 Porfirio November 12, 2013 at 7:02 am

    Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I’ve truly enjoyed surfing around
    your blog posts. After all I’ll be subscribing
    to your feed and I hope you write again very soon!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Art Every Day Month

Pages

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 112,255 hits
October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

