Another Watercolor Class

I love Jane LaFazio‘s journaling technique.  I am a longtime blog reader of hers and have done sketch journaling in her style on and off for a number of years.  I’ve taken some watercolor classes in recent years and struggled with the medium, trying to learn the “right way”, and just like anything, when you start changing how you work with something, you get worse before you get better.

I had pretty much given up because my results were so far off the mark I had set for myself.  Then I saw this Sketchbook and Watercolor Journal Class advertised on Joggles… with Jane LaFazio herself.  So I decided to give it another go. The class runs for 6 weeks, and what I really like as opposed to the classes I’ve taken before is that I have a full week to study each lesson.  I’m hoping to paint something every day which will give me time to work and rework before I have to move on to something else.  I’m also painting small objects, my subject matter of choice.

If you promise not to snicker, I’ll post my learning process.  Promise?  OK, here are my first 4 paintings.  The week #1 subject is fruit (yes, I know potatoes and onions are not fruit but I figured they were the right colors).

3 Responses to “Another Watercolor Class”


  1. 1 Colleen Kole October 19, 2010 at 6:14 am

    Snicker- and why would we do that? These are going to be beautiful! Go for it and enjoy the process.

  2. 2 sue October 19, 2010 at 7:59 am

    Well, you beat me to it ….. I’ve looked at her class for awhile but this fall is jam packed and I couldn’t squeeze it in…so I will follow your learning curve. Looks pretty impressive so far.
    Care to draw a frog ????


  1. 1 Adjustments « Mountain Vistas Trackback on October 23, 2010 at 6:33 pm

Leave a Reply

Categories

Art Every Day Month

Pages

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 111,608 hits
October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

