While the cat’s away…

We left Monte, our Border Collie alone for longer than normal yesterday morning.  We’ve stopped confining her since she has proved herself to be more responsible.  Ahem!  She was alone for about 5 hours with nothing to do except wait patiently for mom and dad.  Usually, that’s not a problem.

I’m sorry I missed the picture of this lovely skein of alpaca wool spread all over her bed.  She must have had a wonderful time.  Now mind you, she has never bothered yarn before (electrical cords, yes, but yarn, no) and because of that, there’s usually some lying around where she can get at it.  This particular skein was down in the bottom of a large basket.  There were many other choices available: some on the table near the edge, some on the sofa, a finished project at nose level, etc.  She had to work for this one, not that it was hidden, but she needed to poke her head all the way into the basket.   She had been sniffing in my project basket earlier in the day – that should have set off alarms I guess – but usually she’s just sniffing.

At first I wasn’t sure I could salvage the yarn, but on closer inspection, it looked like some of it was in tact.  There were numerous pieces less than 18″ long that I discarded, but you can see that I have several tiny balls, several pieces that are about 1 yard long and one nice sized ball.  I bought this yarn for making tiny felted hearts so I think it should still be useful.

Of all the yarn she could have gotten, this one was the least disastrous.  There was no time invested in a project and it belonged to me (as opposed to some other stuff that is part of work I’m doing for someone else).  And in her defense, though I don’t really know why I’m making excuses for her, she could have gotten the yarn caught on her teeth and panicked, working hard to get free of it. I guess I’m in denial that she would get into it in the first place and it was too late to yell at her.  And she looks so innocent.

3 Responses to “While the cat’s away…”


  1. 1 Colleen Kole September 28, 2010 at 6:44 pm

    Maybe Lucy and Mandie have been instructing Monte in the fine art of looking innocent! My dogs love the wooden needles and will sniff them out of any available hiding place.

    • 2 Lynne September 28, 2010 at 7:34 pm

      It gets worse. She destroyed a whole 400 yards of crochet cotton today. She had to dig into a shopping bag this time. It’s the crate for her next time we have to leave her home alone.

  2. 3 sue October 4, 2010 at 8:17 pm

    Be thankful those many yards weren’t already knit into something lovely. I still have favorite pincushions that were chewed on (with the pins in them) and both the dog and the pincushion survived with minimal trauma.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Art Every Day Month

Pages

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 113,100 hits
September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

