Black-eyed Susan

This has been a wonderful summer for plants and the Black-eyed Susans are no exception.  The perennial mounds are covered with abundant flowers so thick it is hard to see the green plant below.  The name black-eyed Susan came from the lovely dark brown gum drop shaped center in the middle of the brilliant golden rays of petals.  It’s a funny name for a flower and it makes me wonder if there was a story in the naming of it.

It reminds me of a funny little family story.  I’ve always loved wildflowers and I often try to identify the ones I see.  My husband is much more interested in other things but has always been very tolerant as I stop to see what is growing along the road or wooded path.  Once, I pointed out the delicate Queen Ann’s Lace to him, showing him the little purple “queen” in the center of all her lace.  He looked a little incredulous, thinking that I had made all that up.  He turned to a yellow flower growing nearby and quipped, “and I suppose that’s King Henry’s yellow pockets!”  It wasn’t actually but it got me to thinking:  I wonder how these lovely blooms got the common names they have.  I found some information on Queen Ann’s Lace but none on the Black-eyed Susan.  If you know, I’d love it if you’d share it with me.

3 Responses to “Black-eyed Susan”


  1. 1 sue September 3, 2010 at 8:21 am

    Love your outdoor pics. You have such a good eye. I’m sure Black eyed Susan’s were named after me. Even tho I have very blue eyes, they opted to call them black because of the intensity and mystery in my gaze. Sounds plausible to me.

  2. 2 Lynne September 6, 2010 at 3:17 pm

    I love your story. Should be part of Wikipedia, don’t you think?

  3. 3 バニラ 原料 August 26, 2016 at 2:50 am

    バニラと聞くと、一般的にはサービスエリアなどで食べられるソフトクリームを思い浮かべるのではないでしょうか?
    しかしバニラは植物です。可憐な可愛らしい白い花です。その植物から摘出された香料のことをバニラと言い、種小名はラテン語で「扁平な葉」を意味します。

    バニラエッセンスは熱することにより香りが揮発しやすいので、焼き菓子など高い温度で熱するモノにはじつはバニラオイルがおすすめです。
    どの例でもかなり香りが強く、特にオイルは数滴で十分な香りがするので使い際には注意が必要です。


Leave a Reply

Categories

Art Every Day Month

Pages

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 110,639 hits
August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

