Old World Crochet

Recently a friend asked me if I knew anything about Old World Crochet.  She had seen some wonderful little bags and wondered if I could show her how it was done.  Not knowing how Old World was different from regular crochet, I googled it and found an article by John Yerkovich in Spin Off magazine, the Summer 2001 issue that showed some small bags with color work patterns.  It turns out that this is where my friend saw them originally and she had the issue at home.

Old World Crochet is very dense because it is done with slip stitch.  Depending on whether you slip into the front or back loop, you can achieve wonderful textures that give the fabric interest and dimension.  I had never done color work so there was a little bit of a learning curve with that, but once I finished the sampler chart, I felt confident to begin one of the charts for the bags with a rounded bottom.

This little treasure bag is worked in Hempathy, a mix of cotton, hemp and modal and measures about 6″ x 3″.

2 Responses to “Old World Crochet”


  1. 1 Colleen Kole August 16, 2010 at 6:41 am

    This is truly beautiful. You amaze me by all of your talents, my friend. You are never afraid to try something new.

  2. 2 Sharon August 16, 2010 at 9:12 pm

    So funny to see Colleen’s comment – I clicked here to say, “Is there nothing you can’t do?!?!” You are truly amazing and I so appreciate your can-do approach to everything life brings your way!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Art Every Day Month

Pages

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 110,671 hits
August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

