Crochet covered stones

I like rocks.  As far back as I can remember, I’ve liked rocks.  I like the way they look, the way they feel, the heft in my hand, the variety and patterns formed by nature.  Needless to say, I have a few hanging around, just being lovely, a treat for the eyes and hands, evoking a sense of wonder as to the how, the when, the why.

It has been fun along the way to meet other people who appreciate rocks, those who have small collections on shelves, in baskets, on tables, and larger collections safely kept in boxes.  I’ve been inspired lately by some posts on a blog I read showing beautiful crochet done over smooth river stones (here)  It’s been something I’ve been meaning to try for some time now, but an email from my friend Sue finally made me get out the tools and give it a go.  Here’s the link she sent.  It turns out to be the same person, Margie Oomen who has posted a tutorial if you want to try it yourself.

4 Responses to “Crochet covered stones”


  1. 1 sue July 24, 2010 at 7:11 pm

    I think it only fair that the person who sent you this link should be rewarded with one of the fruits of your labor ……(or make that stone of your labor). I have a feeling that you are on a roll…..they are lovely.

    • 2 Lynne July 24, 2010 at 7:36 pm

      Hahaha. I just got back from a walk to glean “local talent” in preparation for another go round. I collected 15 stones for auditions. And I have a tentative date for river stone hunting for next week. I think I’ll make a few more.

  2. 3 Colleen July 27, 2010 at 9:02 am

    These are really pretty. I don’t know how to crochet though. Looks addictive.

  3. 4 jane lafazio October 31, 2010 at 8:51 am

    I LOVE this!! I’ll trade you one of my 5×7″ pages for a crocheted rock! really, are you interested? email me offline………


Leave a Reply

Categories

Art Every Day Month

Pages

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 110,621 hits
July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

