“Little Cabin in the Woods”

You all have been so patient – this giant is finally done and ready to give away.

If you are a regular reader, you know that I don’t do bed quilts often.  Most of my work is smaller, much smaller.  And this one is a super queen.  Our daughter was married in 2004 and I promised them a bed quilt.  After some time, she chose a log cabin traditional pattern in cream and green, with a red chimney but she didn’t want it to read Christmas.  So I started collecting fabrics and made up a few sample blocks.  The problem was that she wasn’t thrilled with one of the choices I made.  So those sample blocks languished for a long time on my design wall.  Finally, I decided I just needed to get at it.  But 80 blocks!  And I had already sized them bigger so I didn’t have to make so many.  After shopping for more fabric, I dove in.  By the way, that offending fabric is still in there; it’s just been diluted and distributed so it isn’t all in the same place making such a big statement.

I love traditional patterns but it isn’t what I do anymore.  So of course I was inclined to choose a rather non-traditional quilting pattern.  I had a vision for a whole cloth design – a log cabin (imagine!) in the woods with animals around.  A moose in the front yard was essential but I was flexible about other wildlife.  The next hurdle was finding a long arm quilter who could implement my vision since I couldn’t see myself manhandling this beast through my home sewing machine.

I chose a lady I met through my quilt guild.  After extensive interviews and talking about what I wanted, I signed on to her queue and the waiting for my turn began.  I provided her with a small sketch of my idea and lots of pictures of animals and log cabins I liked, as well as pertinent information I wanted quilted in (wedding names, dates and maker info even though I was planning to make a label).  I gave her some artistic license and lots of suggestions of what I would find acceptable.  When the day came for her to start, we were both on pins and needles.  Would I like what she was doing?

Long story short, I loved what she did.  One fabulous moose, four deer, three rabbits, three bears and a fox later, there is a lovely little cabin in the woods, complete with stone pathway, smoke coming from the chimney, an apple orchard and a clump of birch trees.

From the start, I intended to hang it in our local guild show.  I had several weeks to square it up and sew on over 400″ of binding (which involved more shopping since I was out of the darkest greens that I wanted use).  The quilt was hung so you could see the back also as the quilting design is difficult to see on the front because of all the texture of the blocks.  The back revealed what was quilted there better, though if I had to do it again, I would choose a lighter back so the thread contrast would be greater.  The pictures here were taken at the show since it is the only place I had big enough to hang the whole thing.

Oh, and I won an award.  The quilts in this show aren’t actually judged, but the vendors each get to choose their favorite and mine was chosen by the local Bernina dealer (whose favorite colors are green and brown).  His comments were: “[Her] color choice was wonderful.  Lynne achieved her goal of nature at it’s best.  Very Vermont.”

3 Responses to ““Little Cabin in the Woods””


  1. 1 Colleen Kole April 3, 2010 at 6:45 am

    It is just beautiful. I am sure she will be thrilled with it and to have it. And what a great accomplishment to have it done!

  2. 2 Steph April 3, 2010 at 7:37 pm

    This is FABULOUS! Will it be making its way to Ellen’s soon, or will it still be around when I (maybe) get to see you in early June?


  1. 1 Our Wedding Quilt « Meanderings Trackback on November 15, 2010 at 11:06 am

Leave a Reply

Categories

Art Every Day Month

Pages

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 110,695 hits
April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

