Finishing

Back in November 2009, I was tackling some unfinished projects that had been languishing in the closet.  Among them was a friendship quilt I started in 1997 for our son James to celebrate his graduation from high school.   The top was together, the quilt sandwich made and some hand quilting started.  I had done quite a bit of quilting before I realized that there were puckers on the back that I couldn’t live with.  I was so discouraged, and I put it away.

As I was checking out the other unfinished items, assessing what I could conceivably finish, I realized that I could take out all the hand stitching and give it to my long-arm machine quilter Janet Block of Stone House Quilting in Rutland, VT and have it done in no time.  I had spent way too much time and energy getting all his classmates and a few teachers to write messages on little squares of fabric to abandon the project altogether.  So I called Janet to get his quilt in the queue and set about un-quilting.

A few months later it was ready for squaring up and binding.  James is thrilled with having it finally finished and it hangs proudly in his home now.  And I’m thrilled to have it out where it can be seen and loved.

1 Response to “Finishing”


  1. 1 Colleen Kole April 3, 2010 at 6:47 am

    This is great too-you must feel wonderful having these two done.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Art Every Day Month

Pages

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 113,085 hits
April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

