Farewell to a faithful friend (and no snickering!)

It’s been coming for a while.  Sometimes the charger worked, sometimes it didn’t.  A full charge only lasted 24 hours.  It was often running low on battery and more often than not, I had to plug it in to use it.  But it served me well for many, many years, starting way back before there were wallpaper options or cameras.  This was only the second cell phone I ever owned, the first having gone the way of analog service.  I loved this little dinosaur; it was simple and straight forward, just the ticket for me.  I wasn’t bound by a contract (it expired years ago) and I had a great plan that I wasn’t willing to trade for bells and whistles.

Then my family started to move to iphones, slowly, one at a time, until finally my daughter talk time was threatened because it would cost her too many minutes.  The plan was to wait until Roger’s contract expired in a few months and then switch together.  But after some research, it didn’t make sense to wait.  So today, I said goodbye to my faithful friend and moved on.  Since I’m not all that savvy, it’ll take me a little while to figure it all out.  I have to enter all my contacts by hand because the store didn’t have a cable that would accommodate my sim card.  Then there are all those wonderful apps to explore, and email to figure out.  After just a little dabbling, I think I’m going to  like the change.

4 Responses to “Farewell to a faithful friend (and no snickering!)”


  1. 1 Ellen December 20, 2009 at 4:43 am

    RIP. But I’m glad we have no restrictions now. (This was sent from my phone). Love you!

  2. 2 Colleen December 20, 2009 at 4:02 pm

    How can you forget this phone? You will enjoy your new phone!

  3. 3 sue December 21, 2009 at 2:47 pm

    WELCOME !! You know how I feel about mine. We were at a Christmas party last week and several of the ladies were fond users of THE PHONE and we stood around and compared Apps until we realized it was probably a bit tacky in that setting. It won’t take you long to be connected to the entire e-world and wonder how you ever managed without it. Now you will have a Merry Holiday. Sue

  4. 4 Norma December 27, 2009 at 1:50 pm

    Oooo, an iPhone! I don’t have one, but everyone I know that does just loves it. Enjoy your new toy.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Art Every Day Month

Pages

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 111,652 hits
December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

