Winter is finally here.

Life has been busy in this neck of the woods despite the lack of information posted here.  This past weekend was the culmination of months of diligent practice with the Springfield Community Chorus.  (Don’t look for me in the picture – it’s from last year.  I’m sure they’ll post the new one they took for next year’s article.)  We sang two concerts in nearby towns, one Saturday and one Sunday and now have a month off before the spring work begins.  Even in spite of the first measurable snow of the season, both houses were packed for this annual tradition.

We managed to get a Christmas tree from the local fire department; it is in the house and vertical but so far unadorned because I’ve somehow caught my 3rd cold in 3 months and don’t feel like doing much.  We’ll get to it in a few days.  So I’ve been laying low in front of the fireplace while it snows its heart out outside for our second storm of the season.  Don’t worry, after this one, I’ll stop counting them.  Our measurement in early afternoon was at 16″ and it is still coming down several hours later, depositing another couple of inches.  The weatherman has predicted freezing rain, so we’re leaving whatever comes down now so that we’ll hopefully be able to get it up once the rain stops.  The ice stays all winter if it hits the bare driveway and the thought of putting sand down that will get tracked into the house is unpleasant.  It isn’t us so much as the dog, who can’t take her paws off in the mud room. 🙂

This last one was taken about 4pm after the heavy snow had abated somewhat.  I was on my way out to get the mail.  Yep, we have to walk down the hill to the corner where the mailboxes are.  When I got to the private road that goes along one side of our property, it hadn’t been plowed and there was about 4 feet of snow across the entrance.  Not wanting to step into that deep pile, I thought I’d take what looked like a shallower route.  Thing is, I forgot that there was a rather large drainage ditch that went through there.  I sank up to my waist – my arms kept me from going deeper but it was a struggle to get my feet out and roll off the pile.  Needless to say, I left the mail for tomorrow.  Who knows if there was anything in the box anyway.

1 Response to “Winter is finally here.”


  1. 1 Norma December 9, 2009 at 7:22 pm

    Ah, the joys of living in Vermont. It sure looks beautiful, but I’m glad it’s not here.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Art Every Day Month

Pages

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 113,085 hits
December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

