Beginner watercolor class

Since I’ve been working more consistently in my sketch journal, I realize that I need some instruction and technical information about paint, water and paper.  I signed up for a beginner class with William Lambert of Massachusetts and today was the first of two classes.  One of the most valuable things he showed us today was how to mix many colors of gray – seems silly but it is very useful.  Also, I found  that it was very helpful to have good colors and the right paper.

We went outside to choose some subject matter.  I found an interesting sprig of milkweed and some onion bulbs.  The milkweed seemed a little simpler and I chose to start with that.  There are some things I like about my work today and plenty of places I could improve, but I’m learning lots of things by doing.  Here are photos of my subject and my painting.

milkweed subjetmilkweed watercolor

Tomorrow I tackle the onions.

2 Responses to “Beginner watercolor class”


  1. 1 sue September 26, 2009 at 7:32 pm

    Wow…I’m IMPRESSED … obviously, you are an excellent student and a real talent (but then we all knew that anyhow) Can’t wait to see the next work. I wish we lived closer so I could learn with you. I might have to start a different blog and start some serious work myself….you’ve inspired and motivated me. And it’s now miserably HOT and HOTTER down here…and it’s almost October.

    • 2 Lynne September 26, 2009 at 8:18 pm

      Thanks for your kind words. It’s a big learning curve because I’m using so much more water. I think tomorrow’s work will be a lot dryer because of all the small detail. And I’ll be using lighter paper which will be different too. I’ll let you know how it goes. Sorry it’s so hot there. We had our first frost last night and the weather has been cold and crisp. It’s supposed to rain tomorrow and I think it will be just plain miserable. But then again, this is New England and we’ll just have to wait and see. Can’t wait to see how I’ve inspired you. I hope you’ll post or at least share pix with me. Lynne


Leave a Reply

Categories

Art Every Day Month

Pages

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 112,255 hits
September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

