Finally…. back in the studio

Solid Illusions - Gray Plus One challenge pieceI have finally finished one of the pieces I started in my online class with Pamela Allen back in February.  I made it specifically for the Gray Plus One challenge for the Scrapbaggers’  Newtown, CT library show coming up on September 11th.  The show will hang about a month I think.  I’ve seen a few of the other pieces and it looks to be shaping up into a very nice exhibit.

I titled this piece “Solid Illusions” since it is a study depicting solid geometric shapes in a relatively flat medium to give the illusion of depth and dimension.  Solid Illusions - back with labelIt is fabric collage of commercial cottons and tulle that has been raw-edge appliqued.  It measures about 15″ x 18″.

I’ve come to realize that I’ve been away from the studio too long.  My free motion quilting skills are very rusty and I’ve made better bindings, but because I am such a good procrastinator and way too motivated by looming deadlines, I’m in a time crunch to get the work done and I don’t have the time to practice  back up to my usual workmanship.

2 Responses to “Finally…. back in the studio”


  1. 1 Steph September 7, 2009 at 2:16 pm

    Hi!
    When I clicked on the pictures I could see what amazing quilting you did on the yellow/gold background. Um, could you please send some of that imperfection my way???? I need some! Those projects look great! Now, get back to work!

  2. 2 Norma September 12, 2009 at 7:53 am

    We all commented on your perfect quilting, so I don’t know what you’re talking about. It looked great!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Art Every Day Month

Pages

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 113,085 hits
September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

