Sea Slug Scarf and Spiral Hat

Sea Slug scarfI’ve been knitting lately.  I finished a pair of mittens for a Christmas present and two things for me.  The mittens are not being shown for obvious reasons, but the others are here.  The first is what I’m calling a Sea Slug scarf.  The pattern is really titled Winter Head Wrap by Mac and Me but I wouldn’t wear it that way and all the ruffles remind me of sea slugs or, for the more scientific inclined, nudibranchs.  You can see some pictures here and here and here to see what I mean.  I used Bebe Cotsoy yarn, a blend of cotton and soy fibers.

Spiral HatThe second project is a Spiral Hat.  The pattern can be found in the Storey publication 101 Designer One-Skein Wonders on page 164.  It is a smallish pattern which fits my little head just fine.  I used Louisa Harding Castello yarn, a wool, cotton and synthetic blend.  It made up quickly on size 8 circulars and double points.

Now that I have these little projects finished and out of the knitting bag, it’s on to ….  Socks!

3 Responses to “Sea Slug Scarf and Spiral Hat”


  1. 2 sue August 26, 2009 at 6:29 am

    Only you could connect a knitting edge to a sea creature….but you are right. You’ve captured it well. Love the hat. Great design. I’m usually not taken with hats of any sort but if it ever gets cold and snowy down here, I might consider that one.

  2. 3 Norma August 27, 2009 at 3:24 pm

    YOur sea slug scarf is very cool, as are the pictures of the real thing. Amazing creatures.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Art Every Day Month

Pages

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 110,119 hits
August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

