Pages from my journal

One of my favorite blogs to read is written by Jane LaFazio, an artist in Southern California.  She regularly posts pages from her journal and lovely photographs of the places she’s been and her art classes.  Her sketches are simple and beautiful, ink and watercolor, little snippets of nature in her neck of the woods.  Because of her, I’ve been inspired to try to keep a more regular journal and our trip to Hawaii seemed like the perfect time to start.  It’s been harder to keep it up since we’ve gotten home but I’m trying.  I know it is good to practice drawing – it trains my eye to really see and I have a more intimate knowledge of what I’ve drawn.  Here are a few pages….

journal pagejournal page

journal pagejournal page

8 Responses to “Pages from my journal”


  1. 1 Roger July 22, 2009 at 5:30 am

    Lynne, these are much nicer than the scanned images I tried to create. You are very creative and I thank God for such a wonderful wife!

  2. 2 sue July 22, 2009 at 6:05 am

    Ohhh..i.love your work. You are as good as she is. I’ve been trying to keep a journal also….mostly sketches but sometimes I use the nice little travel w/c kit I have. I’m taking it with if I have any more room in the bag !! I’m not ready to blog them yet.
    Isn’t Roger nice to say that in a public space…….
    BTW…we should go with Jane to ITALY !!?? Roger and Paul could come along…..

  3. 3 Jane LaFazio July 22, 2009 at 7:45 am

    Hey Lynne, Sue, Roger and Paul!!!!!!! Come to Italy with me!! 🙂 The guys who could also take my sketching and watercolor class —. If they’re not interested in my class, there will be lots for them to do (or not do!) It’s really gonna be fabulous to spend a week in Orvieto….

    Anyway, Lynne, thanks for the VERY kind words! And I love your pages from Hawaii! You did a fabulous job! Sooo glad you’ve been inspired to start a journal…it’s really a lovely practice.
    take care!
    Jane LaFazio

  4. 4 Norma July 22, 2009 at 9:34 am

    Lynne, your sketches are beautiful.I keep saying I’m going to draw, but somehow never get around to it. I doubt mine would be anywhere near as good as yours.

  5. 5 Steph July 22, 2009 at 10:20 am

    I love having such talented friends! Beautiful work!

  6. 6 sandra scott July 22, 2009 at 10:59 am

    Just beautiful Lynn…Sandra

  7. 7 quiltsbycolleen July 22, 2009 at 4:52 pm

    I love your pages.Your talent never ceases to amaze me! Should I order fabric for us to play with soon?


  1. 1 It’s arrived « Mountain Vistas Trackback on September 8, 2009 at 3:08 pm

Leave a Reply

Categories

Art Every Day Month

Pages

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 113,054 hits
July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

