Quick updates

First, I’ve been away.

Second, the little nest of phoebes is empty – no eggs.  I don’t know if they hatched and fledged or if they were eaten by some predator.

Bluebird nestThird, the bluebirds fledged two days ago.  I had thought that I would be brave and snap a picture of the babies which I could see through the hole in the box.  But after being buzzed and yelled at by both parents, I decided that it wasn’t worth it.  The next day they were gone.  I did open the box to look at the nest, and to my surprise, it was made almost entirely of long pine needles.  Apparently this is typical, but it was news  to me.  It’s always good to learn something and they have been so much fun to have in the yard.

0 Responses to “Quick updates”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories

Art Every Day Month

Pages

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 112,255 hits
July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

