More Celebration – the unexpected

It seems that while we were in Baltimore for Ellen’s graduation, she and her husband signed up for a 5K foot race to benefit Blood: Water Mission, an organization that builds clean water wells for the people of Africa.  The race was sponsored by Blood: Water Baltimore, one of many local organizations which exist to support the main mission.  I went along when Doug went to pick up their registration packets.  It sounded like a good cause, we were in town, I had gear I could run in…. so I signed up too.

Blood: Water 5KWhat was I thinking?!  I hadn’t run more than 2 minutes at a time in the last 6 months and that was probably down hill!  But Ellen assured me that she hadn’t trained either, was very out of shape, and she would run with me even when I stopped to walk to catch my breath.  The race organizers assured us the course was flat (I’ve heard that before from people who run hills for fun) but it turned out they were mostly right, except for the little hill up to the finish line.

Ellen had just one request:  Could we just not be the last runners to cross the line?  I told her I would do my best.  Most of the runners registered were in their 20’s, 30’s and 40’s.  There were only a handful over 50 and several in their 60’s, so I thought perhaps I had a decent chance of finishing before last.  Of course, my only goal was to finish; I knew I couldn’t run the whole way.

ribbonWe hung around for the awards (which were minimal – it was a fund-raiser after all) and to my surprise, I won first place in my age group (a blue ribbon and a certificate to come later in the mail).  In all honesty, I think there were only 5 of us and there were quite a few (even younger ones) who straggled in after me.  Mission accomplished.

Then we went back to their place to finish spreading 8 cubic yards of mulch.  A good exercise day.

1 Response to “More Celebration – the unexpected”


  1. 1 Norma May 30, 2009 at 7:27 pm

    Kudos on your blue ribbon. Three cheers for the over fifty crowd.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Art Every Day Month

Pages

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 113,100 hits
May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

