Experiments in dyeing

dye experiments #1Awhile ago I ordered some RIT dyes afer reading Judy Coates Perez‘s article in Quilting Arts magazine (Dec/Jan 2009 issue, page 60).  I’ve wanted to try dyeing for some time but been wary of the toxic nature of the fiber reactive dyes.  RIT dyes are non-toxic and seem safer so I decided to give it a go.  All I needed to proceed was some PFD (prepared for dyeing) fabric.  While I was in Chicago, I bought some from the ProChem people – 5 glorious yards.  dye experiments dark oliveI promptly tore it into fat quarters and mixed up 3 different colors: Terra cotta, periwinkle, and dark olive.

This is a low immersion technique using a microwave to speed up the process.  I mixed up the dyes according to Judy’s recipes.  The terra cotta and periwinkle came out very nicely.  The dark olive was way more yellow than I had hoped.  periwinkle and terra cottaIn each bath, I successively dyed three pieces of fabric, yielding a lighter shade each time.  With the dark olive however, I kept adding more of the  green and black hoping to aim to a more green shade.  And I dyed more than 3 pieces.

Over all I’m pleased with what I’ve gotten and look forward to more experiments and more colors.  This was so easy and fun.  I love the beautiful mottled effect achieved by wadding up the fabric and stuffing it into the dye bath.

3 Responses to “Experiments in dyeing”


  1. 1 David April 29, 2009 at 3:32 am

    Nice Mom…looks like a lot of fun indeed!

  2. 2 Colleen April 29, 2009 at 8:14 pm

    I like it! The mottling is really nice. it is very addictive isn’t it?

  3. 3 Norma May 3, 2009 at 10:09 am

    It’s hard to believe that you did these with Rit Dye. They have come a long way. You got some very nice effects, but watch out, you’ll want to make more!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Art Every Day Month

Pages

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 113,282 hits
April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

