International Quilt Festival Chicago – Textures

Last weekend was such a treat: I had the opportunity to attend IQF Chicago. Lynne, Sharon, Colleen My friend Colleen and I used to live in the same area but we have both since moved away. Since then we’ve made it an almost yearly habit to meet in Chicago to take in the show and catch up on life. This year was no exception and we were even able to include another friend who now lives near Chicago.
Detroit Airport Express TramIn an effort to save a few dollars, I took the long way to Chicago – through Detroit. When I arrived in Detroit, I needed to change concourses for the connecting flight. For those who don’t want to walk, the airport supplies this cool Express Tram to take you where you want to go. It was very quiet and seemed to be efficient. I didn’t try it out – I had a long layover and I needed the exercise. I actually found my gate and then took off down to the end of concourse A and back – a good brisk 15 minute walk.
A quilt show is a lot of things: quilts, vendors, classes, food, hotel, friends new and old.  I took lots of photographs and the ones I’m going to post today are all about texture and architectural details.  There is inspiration everywhere: curtains, rugs, ceilings, balconies, windows, fibers, silk strips, beads.  Click on the thumbnails to enlarge.

curtainsrugceilingbalconieswindowsfiberssilk stripsbeadsmore beads

2 Responses to “International Quilt Festival Chicago – Textures”


  1. 1 Cheryl Sleboda April 23, 2009 at 9:17 am

    Hi Lynne!
    It was great to meet you at the show. I got here through Judy Coates Perez’s blog, and recognized you on her blog page.
    Keep in touch, and hope to see you next year!

    Cheryl S.

  2. 2 colleen April 25, 2009 at 8:33 pm

    Had such a great time! Such an amazing show.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Art Every Day Month

Pages

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 110,671 hits
April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

