My First Juried Exhibit

I’ve gone and done it – entered my first juried exhibit. And I heard yesterday that I was accepted. I have no idea how many people entered or whether any were rejected for that matter, but I’m excited none the less.

Back in the summer, I answered an offer from Cynthia St Charles for free tulle that was being given away. The pieces were factory samples and for the cost of postage, I could get an envelope of random pieces. It was suggested at that time that we consider making entries for the Salvaged Threads challenge that required the use of re-purposed fabrics, fabrics that had originally been for something else. My intent was to use some of the tulle I received even though in the end it was all the wrong color. I had ideas, made sketches, and even pulled things together way back in the summer. But then I procrastinated until after all my company went home New Year’s Eve. Fortunately the pieces were to be small or I would have been toast, especially since the deadline was Jan 6. I used trimmings from cutting a quilt down to size, fabric from worn out jeans, muslin from “muslins” that I made to fit my daughter’s wedding dress, an orphaned quilt block, and ephemera from various childhoods (mine and my kids’).

"Pockets" front"Pockets" back

“Pockets” (11.5″ square) celebrates the little stuff we find in pockets that later evokes memories of times gone by. When Ellen saw it, she said she recognized way too much stuff on the quilt. I hope it brought back fond memories for her. The orphaned quilt block is the backing and the label is another little pocket sewn to the back.

"Fragments" front"Fragments" back

“Fragments” (14″ x 9″) represents the snippets of continuum that we have for memories. It is quilted strips captured in tulle.

This group of quilts will be shown in two venues. From March 12-14 it will be at the Big Sky Quilt Retreat Show in Billings, Montana. From March 25 – April 25 the exhibit will be at the Toucan Gallery, also in Billings. If you have the chance, check it out.

4 Responses to “My First Juried Exhibit”


  1. 1 roger January 24, 2009 at 2:35 pm

    I am so proud of my wife’s accomplishments. She is very talented and a real gem to boot! I love you Lynne 🙂

  2. 2 Norma January 24, 2009 at 3:06 pm

    Congratulations on getting accepted! I’m not surprised sinceI saw them in person and they’re great. This should spur you on to enter more shows.

  3. 3 Ellen January 24, 2009 at 10:27 pm

    Fond memories, for sure! Love you.

  4. 4 Lori Gravley August 27, 2009 at 10:51 am

    I love the quilted strips in tulle. Thanks for sharing the link on my blog. Another great way to use leftovers.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Art Every Day Month

Pages

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 110,695 hits
January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

