Pillow cases for cancer patients

janet-and-group-making-pillow-covers-1-16-09I meet with a little group of traditional quilters on Friday mornings. More often than not we knit. But it seems that someone always has some show and tell and they are a nice group of local ladies. Yesterday we got together to make pillow cases to donate to Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center to their pediatric oncology department. janet-and-group-sample-of-pillow-covers-1-16-09I believe the pillow cases will be given as gifts to the patients when they go home so we were supposed to choose something kids might like. The choices I had were limited since I have very few pieces that are at least 3/4 yd in my stash. I bypassed the vegetable print in favor of some bright dots and stripes. We all had a good time and the pillow cases are all fun.

2 Responses to “Pillow cases for cancer patients”


  1. 1 Norma January 19, 2009 at 7:04 pm

    What a nice thing to do, Lynne. I like your bright polka dots, very happy looking!

  2. 2 Stephanie January 22, 2009 at 3:30 pm

    Hi!
    I’m making a pillowcase for Ellie for her (6th!) birthday! I made one a couple of years ago for her and she asked for another one. Since we giving them a Zoo membership as an ALL birthday present, it fits the bill just right. Something to open up, but not a strain on the budget! Gotta love the stash :-).
    AND – I’m “sharing” how to make valentine postcards next week to a small group of ladies here. See what you started? I hope your instructions aren’t copyrighted!

    Gotta go see if I can make a lexulous move while I have the chance!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Art Every Day Month

Pages

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 110,671 hits
January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

