Playing Catch-up

Christmas has come and gone. We’ve said goodbye to 2008 and welcomed a brand new year. And here I am playing catch-up.

We had a houseful for a week – wonderful times with family. I’m so glad my brother thinks that it wouldn’t be Christmas without coming to Vermont. It makes my holiday too. Sadly, we neglected to take the proverbial family photo this year. Maybe next time.

tree top angelSo what have we been up to besides feeding people and doing laundry? Our daughter made a batch of cinnamon ornaments this Christmas for a little tree she and her husband bought. She’d been looking for an appropriate tree topper for a few weeks. We were together for Gramie’s burial recently and we saw a crocheted angel that she thought would be perfect. “Can you make one of those, Mom?”

I’ve crocheted snowflakes out of cotton thread before. I’ve made lots of them actually. So I went on the internet to find a pattern. They were all bigger than I had hoped, so silly me, I thought I’d just use thinner thread and a smaller hook. What was I thinking?! It took me a while but I managed to get all the parts done before company arrived Christmas Day. We stiffened it with diluted white glue and I sent it home with her. I’m waiting for pictures of it sitting atop her little tree. In the mean time, here’s what it looked like on top of ours.

2 Responses to “Playing Catch-up”


  1. 1 Sue January 6, 2009 at 7:35 am

    Your talents know no bounds. I tried making those stars one year after enjoying my sister in laws. Well, I guess I thought they would crochet up stiff or something and I just couldn’t deal with that floppy thin tread and minature stitches. So I REALLY can appreciate your lovely efforts.

  2. 2 norma schlager January 7, 2009 at 7:19 pm

    Sue is right. You can do anything! The angel is so cute!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Art Every Day Month

Pages

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 113,085 hits
January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

