A challenge

idea sketchPerhaps I should have called this post “How do I get myself into these things?”, but those of you who know me well know that I usually volunteer and I do love a challenge. This one is a Christmas stocking challenge mainly for the folks who come for the “Sit and Knit” night at Six Loose Ladies where I volunteer. I have been feeling very uninspired and was thinking that I just wouldn’t participate this time. But on Tuesday I had an insane idea. The entry deadline is tomorrow. The first picture is my little idea sketch.

Then came the difficulty of implementation. First I cut a full size pattern out of graph paper and drew out a rough design. Then I auditioned fabric for the trunk. After cutting strips to simulate rough bark, I set about sewing them down and thread painting a bit.

open stockingNext came the leaves – what kind to make? I decided that the bark looked mostly like oak but I didn’t want to cut out oak leaves. The next choice was maple. How are these significantly less intricate than oak? I have no idea. But I decided on sugar maple, a very Vermont symbol. I fused two different fabrics together, traced around my hand drawn pattern (our maple leaves are covered with snow), sewed in the veins and then set about cutting them all out, all 84 of them. Yikes, what was I thinking?!

I set those aside to choose some ground. Snow or grass? I chose grass since I had cut mostly green leaves. cardinal detailThen to add a touch of red ( and make it more Christmas-y), I thought to add a cardinal to the grass under the tree. I fused all the little pieces together, including those little stick legs, and then fused it whole to the background. After quilting around it to give it some dimension, I sewed the stocking together.

Now for the handwork. I applied binding to the top edge and then commenced to sew on the leaves. They are mostly tacked to each other and then tacked to the trunk. leaves detailSince the fusible web gives body to the leaves, they stick up nicely and maintain their shape.

So there you have it. The judging is people’s choice. I can’t wait to see what everyone else comes up with.

Below are both sides. It can be hung either way.

one side......and the other

4 Responses to “A challenge”


  1. 1 Norma November 30, 2008 at 3:23 pm

    wow, Lynne, that is fabulous! I think you should win for sure. Be sure to post the others if you can.

  2. 2 Colleen November 30, 2008 at 5:03 pm

    I agree-wow-you are very creative, again…! Nice to see you post. I love it.

  3. 4 Stephanie December 1, 2008 at 11:14 pm

    You continue to amaze me – and inspire me at the same time! I’m just trying to get some tablerunners machine quilted for Christmas. Since I have such a hard time with straight lines, I can’t imagine doing anything as fabulous (-ly crazy!) as that stocking!!!! WoW!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Art Every Day Month

Pages

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 111,608 hits
November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

