It’s been a while….

fabric postcard 1For all of you faithful readers who have found nothing new in this space for a while, I apologize. It’s not that nothing is happening. David, our son from Hawaii was here with us for 5 weeks – working mostly but we had wonderful being together time. Monte our dog had a little operation and has been crashing around the house in her lovely plastic hood that keeps her from licking the incision. It has snowed – yep, winter is finally here. Temps have been down in the teens and single digits at night and there’s no more just running over to the barn without a coat. Brrrr!
fabric postcard 2 I’ve been in a bit of an artistic funk too. I’ve been struggling with a pair of socks that just isn’t turning out like I had planned and I’ve been totally uninspired to create anything. So when I got an invitation to a workshop from a friend to come make fabric postcards last Saturday I decided to go. Even this was a struggle but I’m glad I went.
Frances Alford is a wonderfully creative person. She is published in several magazines and has won awards at major quilt shows. She shares her time between VT and TX and has a wide circle of friends, many of whom she invited to this event. Some were new to quilted postcards but all were enthusiastic and lots of fun.

fabric postcard 3I came away with three postcards. I used some of the sheers I had taken along to share plus some of what others brought. Frances, too, was so generous to share her goodies such as paints, embellishments, embroidery floss and threads. It was good to be in a room with others who were having fun creating and where there was no pressure. The pot luck lunch was yummy and it was great to see my friend Frances again.

2 Responses to “It’s been a while….”


  1. 1 Stephanie November 24, 2008 at 7:18 pm

    Welcome back!!! I’ve missed you! Time for a new scrabble game? 🙂

  2. 2 norma schlager November 26, 2008 at 10:10 am

    It’s good to see you making art again. The postcards are great!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Art Every Day Month

Pages

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 113,300 hits
November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

