Monarchy

Back on August 18th, as I walked back home from town I checked the milkweed plants in the field across from the Tucker farm. Under one of the leaves I found the tiny little white egg of the Monarch butterfly. I wasn’t sure I would find any this year because there have been so few of the butterflies around. But there it was. I pinched off the leaf and brought it home. Into the bug jar it went along with some extra leaves in case the caterpillar emerged.
After I set up the jar, I realized we were headed out of town in a few days. So into the car went the bug jar since I was certain the egg would hatch while we were away. True enough, it hatched on the 23rd. The tiny little caterpillar munched slowly and I had a few days to scout out some fresh leaves. They tided us over until we got home. The more it grew, the more it consumed and soon it was eating 3 leaves per day. It molted several times, shedding it’s skin so it could grow some more.


Yesterday I noticed the caterpillar up around the top of the jar spinning lines of silk. By the evening it had attached itself to a tiny silk button and was hanging in a J shape from the lid. While I was at work today it changed into a beautiful green chrysalis. In about 10 days it should emerge as a beautiful Monarch butterfly. This is an amazing miracle. How does it change from a black, yellow and white caterpillar to a soft green chrysalis with tiny black and gold specks. And then there is the mysterious transformation inside that snug little place. God made it that way and He knows. It is up to me to be in awe and to wonder.
Be sure to check back in 10 days to see what comes out. In the meantime, check out the life cycle of the Monarch here.

2 Responses to “Monarchy”


  1. 1 Norma September 10, 2008 at 1:50 pm

    Great shots.Lynne! I can’t wait to see the butterfly. You and Janet should compare notes. I think she has several going.


  1. 1 Monarchy Update « Mountain Vistas Trackback on September 27, 2008 at 6:57 pm

Leave a Reply

Categories

Art Every Day Month

Pages

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 111,608 hits
September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

