Houston Quilt Festival

I had pretty much resigned myself to stay home, even though I had work hanging in the show. But the offer of sharing a friend’s room prompted me to do the planning to make it happen. It is hard to describe the Houston experience. I’ve been to the show once before so I had some idea of what to expect. But knowing that I allowed only two days to see everything sent me into panic mode when I picked up my tickets on Friday morning. The plan was to see the quilts on Friday and to do the vendors and see any remaining quilts on Saturday. Halfway through Friday I realized it was doable as long as I didn’t walk into every vendor’s booth and I was able to relax and enjoy the show. And what a show it was!

Houston Quilt Festival show floorThese photos are from several windows overlooking the Convention Center floor. I took them while waiting for the doors to open. Once the flood of people began, the aisles were never this clear, especially in the vendor area. There were 20 “aisles” of quilts, though they were arranged more in “rooms” than rows, and 20 aisles of vendors selling everything including sewing machines and cabinetry, notions, Houston Quilt Festival vendorscommercial and hand dyed fabrics in cotton, wool and silk, sewing related antiques and jewelry, new products and tools, and all manner of beads and embellishments. In a word: overload.

The quilts were outstanding – can’t really say enough. I had the privilege of meeting some artists that were just names to me and it was wonderful to add a face and personality. And seeing the work in person is so different than photos in a book or on a website.

I’m so glad I went!

2 Responses to “Houston Quilt Festival”


  1. 1 incorporate diamonds July 20, 2016 at 3:50 am

    I like this web site very much so much superb information.

  2. 2 weld stainless November 5, 2016 at 9:05 pm

    Your style is really unique compared to other folks
    I have read stuff from. Thank you for posting when you’ve got the opportunity,
    Guess I’ll just book mark this blog.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Art Every Day Month

Pages

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 113,100 hits
November 2007
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

