One Pen, One Paper

I belong to an on-line group – QuiltArt, a forum for discussing the creation of art using quilting techniques. One member (you can see her work here) posted an art exercise: “Students were given a cheap see-through ink pen, a sheet of paper, and told to use all the ink on the paper. Additional rules – one side of paper, use shades from dark to pale, no recognizable objects, i.e. no houses, trees.” This idea caught my fancy, partly because I like this kind of challenge and partly because I’m procrastinating working on a project in my studio. In any event, I finished my paper. In the process, I broke several rules: I used leaf forms (oops!) and I didn’t empty all the ink from the pen. I still have about 1/4 left. I might try another one, but not today. It was a wonderful exercise in line and texture and well worth the effort.

One pen, one paper exercise

6 Responses to “One Pen, One Paper”


  1. 1 Roger August 8, 2007 at 7:00 pm

    What a cool piece of art! I like it.

  2. 3 Ellen August 10, 2007 at 7:29 am

    you should frame it – it is really very cool!

  3. 4 sue August 10, 2007 at 1:54 pm

    I HAVE to try this !!! what a great use of paper and pen. Reminds me a bit of the Judy’s doodling exercises. Had fun time in FL. Yes, I agree, I always said “Shoot me” if I ever want to live there. But stranger things have happened in my life….stay tuned


  1. 1 One More Pen, One More Piece of Paper « Mountain Vistas Trackback on August 25, 2007 at 2:36 pm
  2. 2 Art Every Day – day 8 – Zentangles « Mountain Vistas Trackback on November 8, 2009 at 6:17 pm

Leave a Reply

Categories

Art Every Day Month

Pages

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 111,608 hits
August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

