Sunflower

I didn’t really set out to do rug hooking. I already have so many other projects in the queue. But I was working at the yarn store and a woman came in looking for rug yarn. We don’t sell any at the moment. Then she looked in our bargain tub. This is actually yard sale quality stuff – excess from people, stuff they don’t want anymore or can’t use. There was a rug hooking kit in there and this lady got it out. It had been opened but was all still there, including the hook and additional directions. We had a discussion about whether the fabric strips were wool or not and about the quality of the product. The receipt for the kit was in there – $25 – and I told her that we would sell it to her for $5. After some deliberation ssunflower rug 8″x8″he decided she wasn’t interested and left the store.

The day before, Ellen and I had been in so I could show her where I worked and all the fun stuff we carry. She had admired some small hooked works by one of our local artisans. She loves sunflowers. So I bought the kit to make for her as a house warming gift for their new home in Maryland. It was a great project for the car, small enough to manage easily in my lap and not so big as to be at it forever. I’ve never done this before and I really should have taken the time to put it in a frame like the directions said to do. But it worked out fine and is nice and flat. I backed it with a piece of wool fabric and embroidered my initials in one corner. It’s in the mail…

0 Responses to “Sunflower”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories

Art Every Day Month

Pages

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 113,100 hits
August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

