Adventures in felting

felt sunsetsI’ve been interested in the idea of making felt from wool roving. The plan was to needle felt the roving into a water soluble stabilizer, wash the stabilizer away while felting the roving and be left with wonderful hand made felt fabric. I was looking for a specific product – Easyfelt paper – but I was unable to track any down for my experiment. Instead I used Aqua Magic which worked quite well for the needle felting part but washed away quickly in water. So I hand felted carefully with hot water in a pie pan to get my small pieces. I intended for them to look like sunsets so I could use them in the small work like I’ve been doing lately. Time will tell how that works out, but for now, I think they came out fairly well.

1 Response to “Adventures in felting”


  1. 1 samptm May 23, 2007 at 7:53 am

    Interesting process. I’m looking forward to the next step and eventually the finished art. Sue


Leave a Reply

Categories

Art Every Day Month

Pages

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 111,651 hits
May 2007
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

