Socks run amok

My son and his girlfriend gave me a present for Christmas. They said that they thought of me when they saw it. I’m not sure if that’s a good thing or not, but they know that I like whacky and “out there” stuff. So that’s how I came into owning a book on making sock creatures and some minimal supplies. Yes, you heard correctly: creatures made out of socks, kind of like the old time sock monkeys, just as personnable but a little more “unique”. Of course, the sock makes the creature and the more interesting the sock… you get the idea. Of course, I thought David and Mariko should be blessed with the first ones. So Winstead and Gloria were conceived and born. They were mostly an experiment, since I really didn’t know what I was doing. But once you sew the eyes on you fall in love. Check ’em out for yourself.
Winstead and GloriaWinstead and Gloria back
Winstead and Gloria have moved to Hawaii where they love the beach and the warm balmy weather, a far cry from frigid Vermont.
Then of course, we had family visiting from Florida. Liz saw Winstead and Gloria, helped me look for interesting socks, and wanted to adopt also. We found the fuzzy pink toe socks while we were shopping together and she is a big pink fan. So Nadine was born. She’s a little punky but very sweet. She loves playing in the snow and I’m sure she’ll be lobbying to have the family come back to Vermont to visit.
NadineNadine playing in the snow
Now my daughter is asking if I can make her one out of baby socks. Yikes! Maybe I’ve really gone over the edge….

4 Responses to “Socks run amok”


  1. 1 Ellen February 9, 2007 at 7:41 am

    the last picture is the best! good job mom!

  2. 2 David February 9, 2007 at 2:25 pm

    Funny pictures! Winstead and Gloria send thier greetings…and some sunshine!

  3. 3 stephanie February 13, 2007 at 3:37 pm

    Ummmmm….baby socks? Is there a message here? 🙂
    Those guys are TOO CUTE!

  4. 4 Elyse DeBelser February 3, 2008 at 5:14 pm

    Great posting, I was surprised by the title (great minds think alike?)
    We can all thank John Murphy, who published his book on Stupid Sock Creatures about a year and a half ago. If you would like to see some more, go to http://www.socksrunamok.etsy.com, or go to http://www.etsy.com and search under sock monsters. There are hundreds of them. And they all make me laugh!
    Elyse DeBelser
    http://www.socksrunamok.com


Leave a Reply

Categories

Art Every Day Month

Pages

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 113,100 hits
February 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  

