Four Years Ago Today

On October 31, 2002 I was diagnosed with breast cancer. Today, I am doing well with no sign of the cancer returning. Several years ago I asked my doctor when he would consider me cured. His answer: never. As the years go by, the chances of recurrence are less and less, but a significant number of cancers return even many years later. So I am diligent to get regular checkups and to know my own body.
Cancer taught me many things, three of which I’ll list here: 1) to be grateful for each and every day God gives me and to celebrate the little joys of being alive, 2) relationahips are most important – my relationship with God needs to be paramount and my relationships with people are so much more important than things, or what others will think, or getting my way, and 3) to actively persue my dreams, not put them off until tomorrow.
God has been so gracious to me, through the treatments, the recovery, excellent medical care, the love and care of family and good friends, and the good health I enjoy. I am so blessed.

0 Responses to “Four Years Ago Today”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories

Art Every Day Month

Pages

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 110,638 hits
October 2006
M T W T F S S
    Nov »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

